Daily Prompt: Our House

Daily Prompt: Our House

by Krista on March 3, 2014

What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life? Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

My memories of the house I remembered..is not the first house I lived in. It must have been my fifth, since my parents were travelling. But, this house was the one with a huge garden and racing tracks. The main living room over looked an enormous garden, where my aunt( father’s sister) would selectively plant roses. So, beautiful ..I wanted to touch and feel, yet I never did..or at least I don’t remember,plucking any..perhaps too preciously nurtured.

The garden had a small hillock, with huge spreading trees of banyan . There lived many owls in those trees, late at night when everyone would go to sleep, I used to return to the living hall, and watch in the moonlight , the hillock where I could see, many fairies dancing away, as the owls hoot.

I remember, asking my maternal grand ma to look at the dancing fairies, but she never could see, what I saw every night. I kept on asking her to look, just over the pedestal like stage, with trees as back drop , and stars with moonlight, would make them seem so magical.

Each night, it was so nice..to watch and smile from far. No one, till today believe me, just as they never believed me then.

I remember them..if they were real..I recall them even if they were part of my imagination.

Leave a Reply

