A poetry by Smithiesshutter :)

I walked through the cinders and tasted the smoke
of the engines that paused there; fireboxes to stoke

in the heat of north India those railmen did toil
then chai in the office; the kettles a-boil.

Strange words for a greeting, they welcomed me there,
then come meet the boss now: and pull up a chair.

I walked through the cinders and tasted the smoke
as I went round the shed, in my notebook I wrote

of the engines and valve gear and tenders I saw
while oiling and coaling: of these men I’m in awe.

I remembered my childhood and traveling by train
from the great Midland city, vacation the aim.

I walked through the cinders and tasted the smoke
as a teen through my twenties, by memories smote

of the smells and the sounds of those engines of yore
that stayed in my heart strings till brought to the fore

by the engines that paused there; fireboxes to stoke
and the joy of the cinders and tasting the smoke.

4 thoughts on “A poetry by Smithiesshutter :)

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails using the same comment. Is there any way you may take away me from that service? Thanks! ggkkedeeaede

  2. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone
    else encountering problems with your website. It appears like some of the text within your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

